top of page
Writer's pictureKris Cotter

Happy May!

I cannot believe that it is already May 1st. It was just April 1st. 

 

I hope that everyone out there had a great month and got to enjoy the fairly decent weather everywhere with those that are most important to them. 


It was my birthday month. I turned 44 and celebrated it by canceling my Universal annual pass and getting a Disney annual pass. I had had the Universal pass for 6 years and they finally raised the price so much that it made more sense to switch to Disney passes.


This was an awesome thing for me, since Disney is a) a lot closer to my house than Universal, b) has a lot more ground for me to wander and explore (one of my favorite past times), and c) provides outlets and free wi-fi pretty much everywhere, including on their free transportation system. That means that I get to get out of my house to work at least one day a week. And that means, I am less likely to go stir crazy. 


 

Fitness



Beach


It is important that you strengthen your abdominal muscles, your tushie, and your legs to take the pressure off the lower spine.

 

Some exercises that you can incorporate are the reverse lunge to knee lift, lateral lunge to knee drive, and the curtsy lunge.


I love all of these exercises because they are compound moves that work so many muscles at the same time. You can always increase the resistance by adding weights, but make sure you can complete 3 sets of 15 with proper form before adding any resistance on.


 

Nutrition


Delicious sandwiches make an enjoyable mid-day meal.

 

No, I don't mean to be go down and hit your local sub shop every afternoon.

 

Those subs are usually loaded with sauces and processed meats.


What I'm suggesting is taking yummy fresh croissants from the local bakery, not the ones as big as my head, and slicing them down the middle. Fill them with super healthy greens, a bit of sliced cheese, sliced avocado, tomato, and cucumber, really any veggies and fruit you want. If you wanted to add some meat, you could buy a roasted chicken and add some shredded chicken to the sandwich.


Veggie Sandwich


It'll be a quick easy way to get your veggies. As you know, I'm always looking for quick easy ways to get fruits and veggies in.


Remember, adding condiments such as mayo, honey mustard, barbecue sauce, or ranch, amps up the calorie count pretty quick, so use sparingly if at all. Or, you can use a yummy hummus as spread, either store bought or homemade. It'll still amp up those calories, but it'll add protein and nutrients as well.


 

Mind and Body


Continuing on with my beach theme, let's find joy.


Sink into your happy place, put on some beach sounds and just exist. Lie back, close your eyes, and listen to the waves crashing against the shore. Let your mind wander where it wants to wander. Let your being be. Do this for as long as you want.


Person relaxing outside


It is perfectly normal when practicing this kind of calming to feel emotions you don't expect. Feel them. Don't try and explore them, don't try and analyze them. Just let them happen. Just be.

 

You might be surprised by the result.


 

As we enter May, let's keep our hearts full of optimism and our minds open and free. Take the time to appreciate the small things around you. Fully enjoy the foods you eat and each and every breath you can take.


Peace, love, and happiness!

Kris

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page