top of page
Writer's pictureKris Cotter

Happy New Year

Updated: May 15

Welcome 2022! 2021 has been quite the year, hasn't it. Friends and families around the world have been forced to reevaluate what is important to them and how they interact with other people. I'm not here to spark debate or add my opinions.


I know that *most* people use the new year as a reason to set resolutions and make future goals. Which is great, if you're into that sort of thing. I personally prefer to look back over my year. I like to look at all of my wins and all of my setbacks. I look and see what led to those wins, how can I avoid those setbacks from here on out.


I don't set resolutions for the new year. According to social researchers, only 4% of the population actually keeps their resolutions. Why set yourself up for failure? I'm not saying that you shouldn't have goals, you definitely should, but using the word resolution seems to make it so much harder to complete.


So after I look back at my year, I think about what I want my next year to be. What do I want to see myself accomplish, or not accomplish? I sit with my journal, this year I am going to try bullet journaling, I know, I'm only like 12 years late to that party, and I do free thought writing. I just let it flow out of my pen onto the page. Once the writing well is tapped. I sit back and reread the deranged mess of writing that has come forth from me like water spilling forth from a well. This is the start to my new year. This is what my inner self needs. This is kind and loving.


I found myself struggling with social interactions in 2021. I found myself avoiding crowds and people in favor of staying home and reading by my fireplace (which is for show only because it is ALWAYS warm down here). Because I found myself avoiding crowds as much as I did, I also didn't leave the house as often as I should have, especially in the early parts of 2021.


I had a long discussion with my hubby, who as a born and bred concrete jungle dweller is just getting used to the idea of spending time where there are insects and dirt, and he agreed that he, too, would love to start seeing more of The Sunshine State than The City Beautiful. I will be spending a good chunk of the beginning of the year researching outdoor areas within driving distance so he and I can enjoy them. I will get this crazy video tech up and working so that the videos I make don't seem like they were filmed by my cats. I hope that 2nd quarter of the year I will be starting the video portion of my wanderlust site.


I want to see more, do more, spend time with those I love more in 2022. As far as resolutions go, that's the best you will get from me.


New Year Day blessing

Wherever 2022 takes us, let us spread love and happiness along the way,

Kris

Comments


bottom of page